An Old Photograph

Today was Fathers’ Day here in Finland. I was remembering my dad, cooked a meal that he would have liked, had he been around and lit a candle for him. He was a pretty special man with endless amounts of patience and the will to help all those in need while asking nothing in return. As a father he wasn’t all lovey-dovey and cuddly, but he wasn’t by any means unkind. He was reserved, but at the same time, there was never any doubt about how much he cared for me and my sisters. He was a great cook and a great driver, full of great advice. He was very reassuring when it seemed like nothing was working out and he had the ability to make everything seem alright. He was hard-working and street smart and definitely someone to look up to. I was lucky to have him in my life for almost 30 years. I miss him dearly.

Here is a picture of him from late 1950’s. He looks very dapper. You’ll never guess where I got my eyebrows from..?

My father, late 1950's.

My father, late 1950’s.

Leave a Reply

