I have finally tried NYX Butter Gloss

NYX Butter Gloss

Here they are. My very first, much raved about NYX Butter Gloss lip glosses. Two of them. I don’t know why I haven’t gotten around to trying to order these babies sooner – after all, people have been writing about them for ages. You can find a huge amount of reviews, swatches and what not online about these glosses, but hey, I thought I would toss in my two cents as well. Of course, we don’t sell NYX in Finland for some reason, so I had to order mine online, so they were delivered from Sweden, where it is actually sold – even has its own boutique! Whyyyyy, Finland, whyyyyy?!

NYX Butter Gloss Maple Blondie and Cherry Pie

At least my order came very quickly, along with a body spray from Victoria’s Secret (also not sold in Finland) and an EOS lip balm – the minty one (also not sold in Finland – I think). Of course, I wanted to buy all the shades, but in case I would hate them for some reason, I opted for only two. And of course, I don’t have like 200 euros to quickly throw into makeup. Bummer. The two shades I chose were Maple Blondie, which is described as a peachy color on NYX website, but which looked pink to my eyes online, and Cherry Pie which is simply red.

NYX Butter Gloss swatches Maple Blondie and Cherry Pie

I was quite surprised by the amount of pigment these glosses pack! They’re no average glosses now are they? I chose these two shades on purpose. I wanted to see if the quality and the pigment would be varying between different colors, which I thought would be a reasonably valid concern after witnessing many lip glosses simply not have any pigment when it comes down to lighter shades. My worries were quickly washed away as I applied my first layer of Maple Blondie – it was pigmented and I could even layer it a bit. Also, the shade looks like a very pinky peach to me, which works out fine for me as peach is not my number one hue, but when mixed with pink, it works quite nicely!

NYX Butter Gloss Maple Blondie

As far as the texture and consistency goes, I quite like these two. They feel quite light and moisturizing on the lips, very pleasant, a bit like lip balm. There’s little to no “stickiness” and they apply quite easily and smoothly. As said, you can layer these up for a more opaque look or wear them as just a bit of color and shine. The wear time isn’t amazing, but then again, these are glosses, so I don’t really expect it. Because these both smell so good, I don’t mind reapplying! On the plus side, they also fade really nicely and evenly, even if they do so unfortunately quickly (after about 2 hours, the difference is already noticeable).

NYX Butter Gloss Cherry Pie

In general, I really like these glosses. They definitely go straight to the top of my lip gloss favorites – if not to the top of all lip makeup! Funny, considering the short wear time. I think that NYX is definitely on to something here though. They’ve even managed to make these smell so good that they become addictive…! Out of the two, I would have to say Cherry Pie is my favorite, because it’s a great way to wear a classic red lip without looking overly severe. I love red lipsticks, but I often feel like wearing the red lip just needs a different setting than say… office cubicle. This gloss allows me to go for the red, but in a more subtle way – even if the shine is kind of eye catching!

Here are a couple of pictures of me wearing the shades (at the office). Excuse the terrible hair and just look at the shades!

Which one is your favorite? Do you have a Butter Gloss collection?

2 thoughts on “I have finally tried NYX Butter Gloss

Leave a Reply

