The berry lips of autumn – and one nearly nude

The berry lips of autumn - and one nearly nude

The autumn has taken me to the forest to pick some berries. At least if you consider the beauty department a forest and these berry shaded lipsticks… well, berries. I think I’ll be leaving the actual picking of berries to someone else and focus on these lipsticks instead! I thought I would showcase my current favorite lipsticks – and one lipliner. I doubt that I’m the only one to go for berry shades when fall comes around, but I don’t recall ever being quite so excited about them as I am now. This whole thing started when I woke up one morning and desperately wanted to pair my silvery eye makeup with berry lips. I found Lumene’s Raspberry Miracle Lipstick in 04 Heather Day that I had bought last year and completely forgotten about. It had barely seen any use. I applied it and decided that I want more. So, as a pre-birthday present for myself, I went and got a couple more…

From left to right: Heather Day, Chilly Night, Iceberry & Pink Pashmina

From left to right: Heather Day, Chilly Night, Iceberry & Pink Pashmina

My lipsticks of choice are: Lumene’s Raspberry Miracle Lipstick in 04 Heather Day (oldie), Raspberry Miracle SHINE Lipstick in 109 Chilly Night and Wild Rose Lipstick in 17 Iceberry, Wild Rose Lipliner shade 4 (my new purchases) and IsaDora’s Perfect Moisture Lipstick in 132 Pink Pashmina (recently acquired). All of the products are cruelty free and Finnish / Swedish (IsaDora). In the picture, most of the shades look almost identical, but they do all look different on the lips.

Heather Day

Lumene Raspberry Miracle Lipstick in 04 Heather Day is a richly pigmented, creamy lipstick that applies almost matte. The finish is lively, slightly satin-like, but pretty much matte. The shade is a very intense purple pink/red hue, much like very dark heather. It’s pretty long lasting (can pretty much survive a cup of tea as well) and when it fades out, it fades very evenly, leaving a bit of a stain for a looooong time. Out of my lipsticks, this is by far the coldest hue and also one of the most intense lippies I own. Once I wore it, I instantly received comments on how well it suits my Snow White -like appearance… I simply cannot have dark hair without instantly getting the Snow White -comments. But that’s alright, she is a princess after all…

Chilly Night

Lumene Raspberry Miracle SHINE Lipstick in 109 Chilly Night is a bit like a more tame version of Heather Day. The color is a bit more pink, a hint less cold and definitely less intensely pigmented. Though it’s a SHINE -lipstick, it’s still far away from being a gloss. It’s a very sophisticated shine with a pretty rich pigment that also has a reasonable wear time and some staining left behind. The hue is a really pretty berry shade for everyday wear, not overwhelmingly strong, but enough to make a statement.

Iceberry

Lumene Wild Rose Lipstick in 17 Iceberry is my ultimate favorite right now. I would say it’s on the same line with IsaDora’s beautiful Pink Pashmina that I’ve loved so much, but thankfully, Iceberry is a totally different shade. Iceberry is warmer than the other two shades, but it’s neutral, not actually warm. The shade brings to mind lightly frosted lingonberries (or perhaps raspberries) and it’s quite beautiful. It looks very natural on me, just a bit darker than my natural lip color. This is definitely a shade I can see myself wearing a lot, all around the year! This too is pretty long wearing and offers a bit of a shine. Feels quite moisturizing too! As a bonus, it comes with SPF 15 and a lot of vitamins!

Pink Pashmina

IsaDora Perfect Moisture Lipstick in 132 Pink Pashmina doesn’t need much of an introduction anymore. It’s my perfect nearly nude. It’s such a great, pigmented pink-y nude shade that goes with everything. After purchasing it, I didn’t even touch another lipstick for two weeks, which for me is pretty spectacular! It may look kind of dark (especially in the late afternoon light on a cloudy day), but it works well as a nude for me, because my lips are naturally so dark. “Normal nudes” always look like concealer lips on me… I would actually recommend you give this a try, if you’ve been struggling with trying to find the perfect nude shade to wear with everything.

Swatches

Heather Day, Chilly Night, Iceberry, Pink Pashmina

Just looking at the swatches, both Iceberry and Pink Pashmina look pretty boring to me! When applied on the lips however, they both become quite magical! I’m super happy for the purchase.

Swatch

Lipliner as well

The lipliner goes especially well with Iceberry, but it can also easily be worn on its own. It’s a beautiful neutral red shade that can easily be worn with several of my existing lipsticks. The lipliner is surprisingly pleasant to apply (I’ve always hated lipliners and thought of them as rather scratchy) and it has a decent amount of weartime as well.

Do you go for the berry shades this fall? How did you like my picks?

2 thoughts on “The berry lips of autumn – and one nearly nude

Leave a Reply

