Lumene Hydra Drops Moisturizing Foundation review

moisturizing-foundation

A while ago I found myself in a bit of a pickle as I was heading out of town for the weekend. I had planned for a quick stop for some natural deodorant on the way, but as I was shopping for the deo, I realized I had successfully left my kabuki brushes at home, though I had packed my minerals with me. Since buying new brushes from a supermarket didn’t seem like the best idea (especially when the ones that would have been suitable were about 20 euros a pop), I opted for checking out the liquid foundation section. I haven’t really been using liquid foundations for ages and considering that my only worthwhile choices were by Lumene and Natural Code (a slightly more affordable branch of Lumene), I picked up the one Lumene foundation I saw having a shade 0. This foundation happened to be a moisturizing foundation. My skin doesn’t exactly need much moisturizing, but I got it anyway, as I was prepared to just powder the heck out of myself during the weekend…

hydradrops-lumene

Lumene Hydra Drops Moisturizing Foundation (30 ml / 14,90 €)

Packaging: I’ve unfortunately never been a huge fan of the Lumene packaging, it tends to be quite dull and not very luxurious at all. Not something I like to keep on my “beauty desk”, but hey, I didn’t buy it for the looks of it!

Scent: Clean, rather mild. Lumene has always had pretty nice, non-pushy scents in their foundations.

Consistency: Thin, but manageable, super light-weight. Feels refreshing. Best applied with fingers, in my opinion. Contains Finnish spring water.

Coverage: Light, a lot like many BB creams. I haven’t tried layering this up, but I think this is best used as a light, thin layer for skin that doesn’t need much coverage. Does even out the tone of the skin though and leaves the skin looking natural and fresh. I would suggest a primer, if like me, you have a mixed skin. This will leave your skin a bit shiny and I personally need to give my face a light dusting of powder afterwards. I would imagine this to be ideal for its target audience: women with dry skin. Offers SPF 4.

Shade: Of course I would choose shade 0, Vanilla Beige, which is the lightest of them all. In Finland it’s sold in 6 shades, none of which are very dark. Shade 0 looks like a pretty nice, neutral pale hue that would suit most pale skin tones.

sample

Sampled on my tanned (!) hand.

Durability: With a coat of powder, I have found this to be surprisingly durable, even on my mixed skin. I do have to apply powder on my oilier areas throughout the day, but in general this does seem to manage through the work day pretty well! Primer helps with staying power, of course.

Pros:

  • Light-weight and moisturizing, as promised
  • Looks very natural
  • Doesn’t leave the skin feeling sticky
  • Comes in a very light shade for the palest of the pale
  • Evens out skin tone
  • Not badly priced
  • Not tested on animals (and not sold in China)

Cons:

  • Not suitable for those looking for (thicker) coverage
  • Doesn’t necessarily have a shade for darker skin tones
  • May not be sold around the world
  • Does not (in my opinion) work with oily skin, even though the package says all skin types

lumene-hydra-drops-moisturizing-foundation-0

Summary: A very pleasant, light foundation for those with dry skin (or possibly up to mixed skin). Evens out the skin tone and gives you a very lovely, dewy finish. Even though I’m not at the target group of this foundation, I’m loving it more every day as I love how good it makes my skin look. You can really see the hydration – and feel it. It has been leaving my skin looking soft as a baby’s bottom (I hear they are quite soft) while evening out my skin tone quite well. I like the fresh scent, I like how easily and well this applies and blends when applied with fingers (my favorite method) and I appreciate the staying power! I read that this was at one point discontinued and replaced with a Vitamin C -foundation, but due to great demand, this was brought back to the market. No doubt, it was a good call!

Who would I recommend to: Anyone with dry to normal skin at least. Anyone struggling to find a shade pale enough. Anyone looking for a bit of coverage and a more even skin tone while still maintaining a natural look.

Would I repurchase: Yes, especially now that winter is coming (no pun intended) and my skin will likely benefit from some added moisture.

7 thoughts on “Lumene Hydra Drops Moisturizing Foundation review

  1. My sister and I use this foundation and we both like it. Actually, it works for my sister’s oily acne prone skin. This foundation doesn’t melt down from her face in a bad way, still stay put but a bit shinny after a long wear day. I have combination skin, quite dehydrated on cheeks but a bit oily on T-zone area, works on my skin too. I totally agree on applying light, it looks cakey when layer it. The biggest con for me is the colour. They are quite pink IMO and I have Asian yellow-ey skin tone.

    • Glad to hear that you’ve both found this to your liking! I haven’t sampled the other shades of the foundation, but I’m a bit surprised that they’re pink! :o I think that majority of Finns have yellow undertones (pretty much everyone tans well) so it should match that… hrmph! I’ve found the Lumene BB cream to be crazy orange and the lighter shade of CC was kind of neutral but still a bit too dark for me.

  2. I have that CC cream too! I like the texture of it but not much the shade… It suits me quite well when I am paler like winter time, it has a ashy-greyish effect when i have a bit tan on :( I like their new serum foundation for drier days like autumn and winter, but colour selection isn’t great, I use the lightest shade 01(quite yellow base) on that one, ha!

  3. Pingback: Makeup Monday – Heather Day | Jennificient

Leave a Reply

