LivBox – September 2014

livbox-all

It’s time for a quick first impressions -post on September’s LivBox (mothly beauty box subscription). After the awesome August box LivBox definitely had big boots to fill! The September’s box was definitely up to the task – unless you are like me, and refusing to use cosmetics that are tested on animals. Now, technically all the cosmetics in the picture are cruelty free, because it’s illegal to sell animal tested cosmetics in the EU, but we all know that L’Oréal and Nivea also sell in China. We know that Katy Perry collaborated with Coty on her new scent and Coty is no angel when it comes to animal testing. L’Occitane is a bit of tough case, because while they are in the Chinese market, their logic sort of makes sense. L’Occitane has always been very adamant about not using animal testing and they have put in work to come up with alternative testing methods. Their logic for not pulling out of the Chinese market was that they’re not big and important enough to make a difference by pulling out. Instead, they focused their efforts on trying to convince the Chinese that there are other valid testing methods. They have so far pushed through alternative testing methods for sun screens, which, I guess, is something. I’m glad that they do this work, but I’m not sure if that still justifies being in China at the moment.

Regardless, here’s what I got:

loccitane

L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream (24 € / 150 ml) (minisize)

Apparently this is a L’Occitane best seller product. I have heard a handful of people rave about it, but I’ve never tried it. Promises to absorb quickly and leave a pleasant scent for the skin. I’m all for shea butter, so I might well try this, but I’m still wrestling with the moral dilemma of the company’s work in China, so I’m not sure I would be into buying this. At 24 euros per 150 ml, this would have to be a really good hand cream for me to bother!

elnett

L’Oréal Paris Elnett Satin Volume Express (2,85 € / 75 ml) (travel size)

Elnett is a pretty legendary hairspray, though I’ve never used it. This hairspray has now been revamped in favor of a volumizing effect. I have always hated hairsprays and I only use them when I do a bun that won’t otherwise hold throughout the day. I also prefer my hairspray unscented (due to my asthma). I’m fairly sure my mom wouldn’t mind having this as a travel option, so I will likely give it to her. I have no use for it, nor do I want to use L’Oréal.

loreal

L’Oréal Paris Skin Perfection Unifying Day Moisturizer (12,90 € / 50 ml)

A normal-sized L’Oréal day cream with a ridiculously long name. Descriped as a moisturizer that evens out skintone and improves skin quality while providing a natural glow. Said to leave the skin feeling refreshed and matte. Sounds like a good product and I would gladly try it, if, once again, it weren’t by L’Oréal. I will be finding a new home for this one without testing it.

nivea-lip-butter

Nivea Lip Butter Blueberry Blush (3,45 € / 16,7 g)

This one is going to be tough one to resist. I do love lip balms and lip butters and I love blueberries! I’ve heard this smells amazing too, which makes it really hard for me to pass this one on as well. Unfortunately, since I bought my Nivea lip butter in Vanilla & Macadamia, I learned that Nivea too sells in China and as such, allows animal testing to be done in order to get their hands on some sweet, sweet yen. Needless to say, I was pretty devastated to hear this as Nivea had always been one of my go-to brands in cosmetics. As such, this one will also be passed on to someone else.

katyperry

Katy Perry Royal Revolution (34 € / 30 ml)

Sounds like a great scent (flowery and a bit sweet with leather!) and I did love Katy Perry’s Killer Queen perfume, which I then decided not to buy as I found out that Katy has been making these in collaboration with Coty. Unfortunately, this too shall be passed on, which is a real shame because I’m quite sure I would have loved the scent!

lumene

Lumene Clear it up! (6,90 € / 150 ml)

Finally something I can use! Even though this one seems to be mostly directed at teens / possibly young adults with it’s deeply purifying promise, I might still put this into the shower to use when I need a quick wash-up with something that will take care of the eye makup as well (which this promises to do). I did give this a quick sniff and quite liked it, so I think I will indeed be using this one. The wash-up gel is suitable for oily & mixed skin, so it might be best for me during summer time use.

Afterthought

Pretty great box, if you haven’t set the same kind of limits for yourself as I have. I feel most people are satisfied knowing that their product wasn’t tested on animals and don’t really think about the Chinese market, which I understand. It seems like a pretty distant thing and sometimes I feel like I’ve made my (cosmetic) life really difficult by opting out of (non-Chinese) products sold in China. I wish nothing more than for L’Oréal to pull out of the Chinese market. It’s such a huge company, that I think if someone like it were to pull out, the Chinese would soon be forced to rethink their policies.

Leave a Reply

