Konjac Sponge

konjac-3

I love this giant, fluffy sponge so much – and I’m not alone. Several beauty bloggers have been singing praises to this sponge for months, so in a way, I was a bit late in getting mine! I ordered mine online and I’ve now been using it for about 3 weeks, give or take. I’ve really been able to use it for about 2 weeks, since during the move it just wasn’t very practical.

I have to share with you my experiences with this sponge, because for me, it may seriously be the beauty product of the year.

What is the Konjac Sponge?

The konjac plant, or the konjac potato (konnyaku) is an Asian plant, which is about 97% water. The plant itself is edible, rich in minerals and low in calories. The konjac’s pH is neutral, which balances out the skin when used as a sponge. The konjac plant has been used for over 1500 years as medicine, food, dieting aid and as a beauty product. Of course, the sponges are also free from chemicals, colouring, additives and irritants – and they are fully biodegradable.

My sponge is their 100% Pure Konjac Sponge, ideal for all skin types and all ages. The sponge is said to deeply cleanse, remove blackheads and gently exfoliate the skin.

konjac-2

How does it work?

Before the first use, you place the sponge in a bowl of water for at least 5 minutes, allowing the hard little hemisphere to soak up the water so that it will become soft and pleasant to use. The sponge almost doubles in size during this process! To use the sponge, you drain it gently between your palms (don’t squeeze it very hard or wring it dry!) and use it in a circular motion on your face and neck (and decollete, if you wish – I do!). You can’t rub too hard with this sponge as it’s extremely soft and pleasant and doesn’t feel hard or irritating on the skin at all. After you are done using the sponge, rinse it well and hang it somewhere to dry – it comes with a handy little string.

What does it do?

I can only speak for myself, but I have been really loving this all natural sponge. I use it in the morning with some water alone to wake up my skin and get my face ready for the day. I used to often wash my face in the morning with a cleanser, after which I would use a toner – or some mornings I would just use the toner, but now… Now, I only use the sponge and water. It cleanses my skin really well without leaving it feeling either greasy (as I would normally feel after the sebum invasion of the night and simply washing with water) nor dry (as I would feel after a wash with products). It leaves my skin feeling absolutely perfect, soft and smooth, yet firm. I apply my eye gel and my light moisturizer and I’m ready for the makeup!

In the evening, I often use this to finish my cleansing routine, whatever that may be. The konjac sponge is said to be enough to remove light makeup, but I prefer to go over my face with a cleansing oil first and then finish the job with the sponge. Again, I’m left with wonderful skin!

I would say that I think this sponge has been a great help for my skin. The moving made my skin break out quite badly and it looked dull and lifeless with red spots here and there. Now, after a couple of weeks of the sponge, my skin looks really good. Perhaps better than it has in ages. I love the gentleness of the sponge and I love that I can use it so easily over my face, neck and decollete. I also love how it feels like it just glides over your skin, almost as if there was soap on it – yet it leaves no residue.

konjac-1

How long is the lifespan of the sponge?

Approximately 3 months, is the estimate most often given. Of course, this also depends on how hard you handle your sponge, how you store it and probably, if you use chemicals with it. Once the sponge has reached the end of its lifespan, it starts to crumble, at which point you can throw it out among your bio trash (if you, like me, have a separate bin for organic garbage).

Will I be repurchasing?

I can’t think of a reason as to why I wouldn’t. Honestly, they make these for the body too and I’m quite tempted to get one! I imagine it would be pretty heavenly…

Who would I recommend it for?

Everyone. Even for washing up your baby, if you have one. These sponges are so soft and so gentle, they are perfect for anyone! The price in Finland is just under 10 euros (but of course, Finland is expensive), but I see it going for about £8 in the UK, for example. I think it’s more than worth the money. Here’s a link to their website.

Will you be trying the Konjac Sponge?

6 thoughts on “Konjac Sponge

Leave a Reply

