Green smoothie goodness

Green Smoothie

Part of my lunch today (sorry about the messy glass, I had already taken a sip!) – a green smoothie! I’ve always been a huge fan of smoothies and I enjoy them almost daily, but I had never really had a green smoothie until today. I got on a bit of a health kick over my small holiday and started to think up ways to bring more healthy things into my life. I do love many veggies, fruit & berries and the latter I can rarely get enough of, but I could certainly use more green things in my diet. That said, I bravely decided to try a new approach to greens – put them into a smoothie. I found a few good recipes (and pinned some of them), but ended up having to improvise a bit as my pears weren’t quite ripe yet…

Here’s what’s in my smoothie (per portion):

1 large handful of fresh spinach (salad style)
1 large handful of romaine lettuce
1 banana
4 ice cubes
some apple juice (about 1 cup)
1 tbsp of honey

Absolutely delicious and certainly healthy – though I would advice to use some caution with spinach and apply some extra calcium in your diet as spinach has calcium-absorbing qualities. It is packed with vitamins, such as K, A, C and B6 and folic acid, magnesium, selenium and potassium – so you can pretty much skip your vitamin pills if you consume about 50g of spinach. Some sources suggest not eating raw spinach but the soft, thin and salad style spinach should be fine as it is. Some sources also suggest consuming raw spinach no more than twice a week, which may be what I’ll do.

Do you enjoy healthy smoothies? What’s your favorite?

4 thoughts on “Green smoothie goodness

  1. I came across your blog because of the body shop tea tree bb cream, and I’m glad to discover this blog :-) it’s informative and I like your writing style. Also, I’m happy to read Finnish bloggers in English as I don’t understand much in Finnish lol keep up the good work! Hyvää työtä :D

Leave a Reply

