Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer

My latest LivBox (a box I receive monthly that contains different kinds of (mostly) cosmetic samples) came with the much reviewed and raved about Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer, so I figured I’d do my part and toss in my two cents on what I think of the product.

Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer

The packaging is simple, yet kind of stylish, though plastic-y. You can get the idea of what shade the product is by simply looking at the tube. Inside, there is a sponge-tip applicator wand which allows you to apply the product with varied intensity. At first, I thought the end result wasn’t going to be very neat at all and I huffed and puffed a bit, but once I gave my lips a bit of a scrubbing and a good balming (and dabbed off the balm a bit), I got a pretty nice and even application that dried quite quickly.

Somehow, I had thought that this was more of a shine-y, sticky lip gloss like product (even though I had read reviews, hah!) as I remember the lip lacquers from a few years ago when a lot of them were just that. I was actually quite pleased that it dried into only a hint of shine, much like an average lipstick – but with a good dose of pigment and a texture that suggests it’s on those lips to stay!

There’s a familiar, yet somehow very fake scent to this product which I don’t particularly love, but it doesn’t really bother me, since it doesn’t simply stay and linger on the lips.

The shade I received, Luna, is not a color I would typically go for. It’s a very warm peachy, orange-y kind of a shade that isn’t the best match for me, but in natural lighting it can look quite pretty. I’m sure that for generally warm-colored women this would be a great match indeed.

I would love to try this in one of the pink shades of the range, because I think those would suit me better.

However, Rimmel is not a brand I would normally buy, because even though they are against animal testing and do not test their ingredients or products on animals they are a company that will allow their products to be tested on animals for the markets that require those tests by law. I quite like the lacquer, but at the same time, I wouldn’t wish to put money into the pocket of a brand who allows testing for certain markets. Then again, I favor The Body Shop products, which have a Leaping Bunny symbol – but who are owned by L’Oreal… Ugh. Why must it be so complicated?!

Anyway, to sum it up:

  • Several different colors ranging from nude to vivid reds
  • Not as long-wearing as I would’ve thought (and can’t handle blowing my nose, hah)
  • Quite the fake scent, might not be to everyone’s liking
  • A bit difficult to apply neatly
  • Doesn’t feel too drying on the lips
  • Provides a hint of shine

Have you tried the Apocalips?

2 thoughts on “Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer

    • Guess you found it! :) And it’s not badly priced. It does not work on me at all, unfortunately. I tried to wear it to work today, but it’s just too orangey – and it knows it doesn’t suit me as it doesn’t stay put for very long either. :D

Leave a Reply

