Workday makeup rut

I’ve been pretty silent here on blog lately as you may have noticed. At work, it’s the busiest time of the year right now and I admit that I’ve neglected a few things out of sheer tiredness. One of those things is makeup. I do my makeup, sure, but I’m noticing that I’ve been kind of stuck in a rut and doing something I can’t recall ever doing before – doing the same face every day. Usually I experiment freely with new eye shadows and lipsticks and what have you, regardless of the day of the week and on most days I do a different eye makeup just according to my mood. Lately though, I’ve been having such a hard time getting up in the morning that I keep reaching for the same few items on a daily basis. When I come to think of it, it’s actually kind of a good thing to be stuck in a rut.

For one, the time it takes for me to get ready has been pretty much cut in half in terms of makeup because I know what I need and I know what I’m putting on as soon as I have finished applying my moisturizer and I can just get going. I’ve also kind of found my easy, everyday look that can be easily modified by adding or subtracting a bold lip.

everydayproducts

Here’s what I’ve been using:

  • BB cream (The Body Shop Flawless BB Cream in 01)
  • Powder (Lumene CC 6-in-1 in Fair / Medium)
  • Bronzer (Maybelline Dream Sun Bronzer)
  • Blush (Makeup Academy Blusher in Cupcake)
  • Black eyeliner (Lumene Sensitive Touch Automatic Eyeliner)
  • Black mascara (Isadora All Day Long Lash)
  • Lipstick / lip gloss (Makeup Academy Lipstick 04)

And yes, I have learned to use a very light bronzer (which smells kind of like old lady makeup) and realized that it actually works for me – when it’s light enough. I have also been skipping the primer, because I find that under a BB cream it just kind of tends to slip away anyway. As much as I love a mineral base, the fact is that BB cream is just a whole lot quicker to apply since you can do it by simply using your fingers. I also really do like this BB cream – it works well now that my skin needs very little covering up. I have generally skipped doing my eyebrows to save some time and I skipped them for the purposes of these pictures as well. I like to use the black eyeliner for tight lining my upper lash line / eyelid as well, it really makes the eyes stand out, which is important to me because of my very strong prescription.

Usually my look is pretty much like this:

Strong black liner and mascara for the eyes and pretty neutral lips. Somehow the eyeliner just makes me look nicely polished – and this Lumene one just stays put really well and it’s a great, intense black, almost could pass for a liquid liner. Really easy for me to apply too as it almost applies itself. I don’t know how I survived without this eyeliner, but it has certainly become my favorite one.

Do you have an everyday makeup look that you keep going for on a daily basis or do you like to switch it around?

2 thoughts on “Workday makeup rut

Leave a Reply

