My summer nail polish favorites from Mavala

I don’t know about you guys, but for the summer (especially) I like a bit of color on my nails. Though, some days I feel like elegant and simple nude nails might be the best option. For years I’ve been a fan of Mavala’s mini-sized nail polishes because, let’s be honest, I tend to get bored of nail polish colors pretty quickly – and I’m a bit lazy when it comes to painting my nails with anything that isn’t a simple clear polish. Anyway, here are my 8 favorites for a summertime mani – all by Mavala!

kynsilakat

From left to right: 335 Pacific Blue, 179 Lemon Cream, 68 Sorrento, 19 Hong Kong, 34 Nicosia, 97 Wichita, 52 Toulouse and 3 Paris.

335 Pacific Blue is my newest Mavala purchase, which I believe I have mentioned here as well. It’s a pure turquoise shade that is definitely more blue than green. It has a very slight hint of pearl in it, which you can see if the sun hits the nail just right. This is basically the only blue shade I own and the only blue nail polish I’ve used since my teens. I love how fresh and summery it looks – just like an inviting, cooling ocean…

179 Lemon Cream is absolutely delicious pale yellow shade. It looks creamy with very a very small hint of pearl in the sunshine. I can almost taste lemon cheesecake when I look at this… (okay, control yourself!) I bought this a couple of years ago when I wanted everything to be yellow. Including my nails. Yet, as far as yellows go, this one is very easy to wear and would likely suit most skin tones.

68 Sorrento is a bright, “lego-yellow” shade with far more pearl than Lemon Cream. In some lights, this shade is almost like gold, in others, it’s a pure, deep yellow. I think this one is best when worn outside in the sun. Not as easy of a color to wear as Lemon Cream, but definitely a show-stopper.

19 Hong Kong is the perfect coral pink. It has a good deal of pearl in it and I would imagine it to suit most skin tones. It’s definitely a summer color and with coral being very on-trend this year, I think this baby is definitely worth spending a few euros/pounds/dollars on.

34 Nicosia is a sandy beige shade with quite a lot of pearl-like shimmer in it. I would say this is a brown-beige nude shade (with shimmer). Somehow very elegant shade which can be “dressed up” with a dash of gold glitter for an extra effect.

97 Wichita is the perfect nude shade for me. It’s a pink nude without shimmer and it’s super flattering and easy to wear. Much used and well loved, though to get a truly opaque look, I usually need to apply 3 coats, which is a bit of a process.

52 Toulouse on the other hand is the perfect pink. It’s a bit on the warm side, creamy-looking and doesn’t really have a shimmer. It’s not a very dark shade, more of a neutral intensity. Very lovely and most likely flattering for all skin tones.

3 Paris is that classic red every girl/woman needs. It’s a pure, clear red that goes with everything at any time of the year. If I had to pick, I would say it’s rather a cooler kind of red shade than an orange-y shade. Very lovely.

What kind of summer nail polish favorites do you have? Have you tried Mavala’s mini-sized polishes?

PS. The blog is now also on Facebook!

One thought on “My summer nail polish favorites from Mavala

Leave a Reply

