SIM Argan Care Healing Smoothie & SIM Argan Care Moisture Shot review

argan-care

I received samples of SIM Argan Care Healing Smoothie & SIM Argan Care Moisture Shot hair products with my last LivBox earlier this month. LivBox, as you may know from my previous posts, is a monthly cosmetics & beauty box delivered to your home/workplace and it contains both normal sized products and samples. Since I have had the chance to try these two, I thought I would review them a bit. They seem to be available online for UK at I Love Hair & Beauty, at least.

SIM Argan Care Healing Smoothie sells for a whopping 36 euros (300ml) here in Finland, so it’s not a product I would normally easily pick out for my hair. The SIM Argan Care Healing Smoothie functions as a hair mask, to be used after shampooing. The product contains argan oil and is marketed as having reconstructive qualities, balancing the moisture balance in dry, damaged hair. The product claims to boost hair renewal rate and make the hair softer and easier to comb.

I love hair masks. There’s nothing as amazing as that silky soft, luxurious feeling you get after using an excellent hair mask. I usually treat myself to one on a weekly basis – or at least before any important event. I was super excited to try this product as hair masks are one thing I could even see myself dropping 36 euros for – if it’s good.

Sadly, this one was a big disappointment. I have naturally slightly wavy hair which is in good condition, but really needs moisture in order to not become a poofy, frizzy mess. After having heard so many good things about argan oil, I figured this mask would be absolutely heavenly, but honestly, I’m surprised by how poorly it worked. I have been using a really inexpensive L’Oreal hair mask (for which I am in the process of finding a replacement) and that L’Oreal hair mask beats this baby 6-0.

The scent is pleasant enough, the texture is equal to average conditioner, but the results are… not much to write home about. As I usually do before using a hair mask, I wash my hair with a clarifying shampoo first to get all the styling products and other residues off of my hair – then, I use a hair mask, which has now an even better surface to cling to. I was having real trouble running my fingers through my hair after using the SIM Argan Care Healing Smoothie after my clarifying shampoo. My hair didn’t feel particularly awful, but it was far from that luxurious, silky feeling I’m used to. Odd.

As a conclusion, for the price of 36 euros… definitely would not purchase for myself nor would I want to recommend this to anyone – except maybe to those with very soft, weak hair.

SIM Argan Care Moisture Shot on the other hand is a hydrating styling cream, which promises to deeply moisturize the hair, rebuild the hair fibre and to remove frizziness and electricity from the hair. Little is said to go a long way.

The scent is pleasant again, the texture is semi-thick and creamy, but once again, I feel pretty indifferent after using the product. I normally use BC Miracle Oil which leaves my hair very soft and smooth, even if I just let it air dry and don’t even comb through it. This seemed to just kind of vanish into my hair. I wouldn’t really market this as a styling cream either, because it doesn’t really do much in terms of styling… at least not in my hair. Another disappointment then!

The price for this one is an impressive 24 euros (250ml) here in Finland, which I would say is quite a bit for a styling product – especially when it doesn’t really do much for you.

Out of this duo, the styling cream is definitely more worth your while, but I’d say neither is really worth your money.

Has anyone else tried these?

 

Leave a Reply

