The Body Shop Tea Tree Pore Minimiser Review

teatree

I have to say it goes against my nature to spell it “minimiser” with an s instead of z! But, nevermind that, let’s take a look at The Body Shop’s Tea Tree Pore Minimiser.

Product promise according to The Body Shop:

Tea Tree Pore Minimiser makes pores look smaller. Infused with Community Fair Trade organic tea tree oil, it smoothes, primes and mattifies, and leaves skin feeling fresh and pure.

  • Minimises the appearance of pores
  • Matifies for a shine-free finish
  • Leaves skin feeling fresh and pure
  • Ideal base for make-up

I’m sure you all know by now that giant pores, especially on my nose, are, and have always been, my biggest beauty annoyance, so it would make sense that I’d try anything to make them go away – or at least, make them less obvious. I’ve tried various products from The Body Shop’s Tea Tree line throughout the years, but this one I’ve been using only a few weeks now.

What annoys me is that I can’t seem to find any info on if this is supposed to replace your moisturizer entirely or if you use this over your moisturizer or what the heck do you do with it. I believe I read from some blog at some point that you can use this over your normal moisturizer and only use it for the areas where pores are a problem, but there’s no official knowledge on this, which I think could be pretty vital! So, yes, I’ve basically used this over my normal moisturizer, which currently is that Nivea’s moisturizer-primer hybrid I think I’ve mentioned before. I use this only on the areas where my pores are the biggest, because I worry it might dry me out otherwise.

Packaging:  Goes with the rest of the Tea Tree -range. Simple plastic tube that stays true to the other TBS products. 30 ml will go quite a long way if you use it only on the areas you need pore minimizing and shine control – such as the t-zone.

Scent: Very tea tree-y. I personally love the smell of tea tree, even though it’s strong (as it is in this product). It always gives me the image of something deeply purifying and cleansing.

Texture: Medium-thick yellow-tinted cream. Easy to apply, dries pretty much instantly.

Does it fulfill its promise? Yes. It doesn’t magically make the pores disappear, but they appear a little bit less obvious. You certainly get a more matte finish than you would with just a moisturizer. The skin does indeed feel pretty fresh and pure. This seems to work well under both a liquid foundation as well as a powder foundation (mineral foundation). I don’t feel like I absolutely need to use an additional primer with this, though of course, as mentioned, the pores are still there. They’re just less noticeable.

Would I repurchase? The price here in Finland is a whopping 15,30 euros (I think it was about £ 7.50 in the UK), which is a bit steep, I think, but then again, you get away with using a very small amount. I do really like the product and it’s likely that this will remain in my bathroom for quite some time. In other words, I would repurchase. Now, if only this could also fix those pores…

One thought on “The Body Shop Tea Tree Pore Minimiser Review

Leave a Reply

