Urtekram Organic Lavender Shampoo & Conditioner Review

Urtekram Lavender shampoo & conditioner

Urtekram Lavender shampoo & conditioner

My hair is shoulder-lenght, naturally wavy & a bit frizzy. It’s in good condition, though it is colored. For ages, I’ve used L’Oréal’s wonderfully scented stuffs, but NO LONGER. I’m in search for an eco- & animal friendly alternatives!

Urtekram Organic Lavender Shampoo:  First impression was just the heavenly smell, just like lavender, nothing added. The texture is very watery, which I half expected. Unfortunately, this also meant that I couldn’t get it to foam at all (and I need the foam!) and it didn’t feel like it was really cleaning my hair. I had to use three times my usual amount just to feel somewhat satisfied. When I washed it off, my hair felt awful. It was feeling very tangled, very straw-like and just an all-around mess. I could only hope the conditioner would fix this up.

Urtekram Organic Lavender Conditioner: Again, heavenly scent of lavender, even more so perhaps than in the shower. Thicker texture than the shampoo, but I felt I still needed a lot more than I’d normally use to get this to cover my hair. I let it sit on my hair for about 5 minutes before rinsing (the bottle recommended 3-5 minutes), but unfortunately after rinsing, I was once again left with tangled, straw-like mess. My hair actually felt like it was stretching when I was trying to comb it through a bit with my fingers in the shower. The end result was so frightening that I had to re-wash my hair with my usual products.

I’m really sad that these two didn’t work for me, because I absolutely loved the scent of these two! Lavender is one of my favorite scents (and flowers) and I really wanted these to work! Oh well, someone in my building will soon have wonderfully lavender-smelling hair, as I donated these to whomever might be interested (left them downstairs with a note “please take”).

I think these could work for someone who naturally has normal or kind of thin hair which hasn’t been chemically processed at all. For my kind of a mane… no luck.

What are your favorite organic/vegan/vegetarian/cruelty-free hair products?

3 thoughts on “Urtekram Organic Lavender Shampoo & Conditioner Review

  1. That sucks…I need foam too, it’s just not the same without it. Since I have long (somewhat dry) hair, conditioner is something I can’t live without. Too bad this didn’t work out for you, specially if it smells amazing!

    One time, I went into the store asking for a shampoo and conditioner that will leave the smell on the hair for a long time. I don’t think the lady really understood but I’ve been looking for a hair product that will leave that wonderful hint of fragrance…like sometimes you just get a a whiff of someones hair, and it’s like..well that smells really nice, but in a NOT creepy way. Haha, anyway…

    • I know what you mean! As a kid, I had this amazing apple scented shampoo & conditioner that would keep my hair smelling like apples forever…. mmm… I love apple scented things…. too bad they seem really rare these days! (and/or are meant for kiddies)

  2. Pingback: Urtekram Hand Cream Review | Jennificient

Leave a Reply

