New hair color & Saturday’s makeup look

Last night, I colored my hair. It wasn’t really that much of a “spur of the moment” kind of thing, but the choice of color was. I’ve had red hair since last fall (and about a billion times before that), but honestly, I had to just face the fact that even if I’d want to have glorious copper colored locks, that warm red is just not my shade. I’ve been going around with mahoganies and what not, but they fade into a really lame, brassy color. After much thought, I picked up Casting Creme Gloss in shade 513, Iced Truffle, which claimed to be a “frosty light brown” and according tot he little hair tuft sample present, it was. Well, obviously, shade depth 5(.13) is deeper than a LIGHT brown, which would be probably about 7, my natural depth. Yet, the color turned out darker than I expected, but honestly, I really like how well it took down the brassiness and gave a cool, chocolate brown kind of hair. Somehow I feel like my eyes stand out more, my skin looks more radiant and I generally feel really good about the change. What do you think?

My today’s makeup was done with, surprise surprise, MUA’s Pretty Edgy palette! I’m sure you’re all sick and tired of this palette by now, but I can’t get enough of it. I love how versatile the colors are and how they’re right up my alley. I can’t believe I didn’t pick this palette up sooner!

pretty_edgy_eyes2pretty_edgy_eyesmeikkituotteet

Of course, I forgot the Power Brow from the picture again! Other than that, you can see my today’s makeup products above. I also forgot to use the eyeshadow primer, but honestly, though it works well when applying eyeshadow, it really doesn’t make the eyeshadow last any longer – unfortunately. As a base, I used the Max Factor Whipped Creme Foundation in Light Ivory, instead of my trusty Lily Lolos. I really love the Whipped Creme Foundation, but I wish it were even lighter in color… My complaint with ALL foundations. On my t-zone I used a bit of Lumene’s Illuminating Powder (translucent). I also used the MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighter, MUA’s blusher in shade Cupcake (perfect for any look, I’m finding), Maybelline Colour Sensational lipstick in 103 Iridescent Rose Diamonds, topped with a bit of MUA’s Sheer Lip Gloss in Some Me Time. To finish the look, I used LÓreal’s Telescopic Mascara. The shades I used from Pretty Edgy palette were Antique (inner corner highlights), Toile (all over lid) & Lace (outer corners, blended inwards (very lightly used). I used a bit of the matte deep purple, Wrath, for a slight, subtle lining on ½ the upper lid.

Now, after a supremely delicious American-style pancake breakfast, made by my wonderful husband, I’m ready to head out to meet my friend for a nice cup of tea… Have a wonderful Saturday everyone!

4 thoughts on “New hair color & Saturday’s makeup look

  1. You know, I get so jealous with girls who have dark hair and light eyes! I just think its the most exotic and stunning look combination out there.
    This color really suits you well♥

    • Oh thank you! My natural color isn’t this dark – I actually used to be blonde until I started dyeing my hair ages ago… then again, like all Finns are blonde with blue eyes :D My dad had black hair and blue eyes – he was a very handsome man <3

Leave a Reply

