Clinique Colour Surge Butter Shine Lipstick

If you checked out my last post, you’ll know that I got my LivBox yesterday and that within it laid something that caused me to nearly explode with glee. Makeup products are almost annoyingly rarely a part of this box so I was super pleased to find both the lipstick and my special reward, the nail polish, in the box.

As I’ve never purchased or tried a Clinique lipstick before, there was one thing that immediately confused me: the packaging. The packaging looks… very cheap and toy-like somehow. It’s not very attractive, just a minty green colored tube with a thin silver band around it. In Finland this is priced around 24 euros, which I think is a pretty steep price – especially if you happen to know that it sells for 15 DOLLARS (which is 10 euros – which is nothing!) at Sephora, where the packaging also is completely different and more luxurious… Interesting…

Sephora describes the lipstick as follows:

“The creamiest, richest, smoothest lip colour you can imagine. Our revolutionary gel formula delivers the shine of a gloss, the comfort of a lipstick. Drenches lips in moist, lush color that glides on buttery-soft, feels luxuriously smooth.”

When I opened the lipstick, I briefly felt a moment of terror. The color, labeled Pink-A-Boo, looked almost glittery and really kind of a coral red, a shade that rarely suits me. With shaking hands, I proceeded to apply the product to my lips only to find it to be a very lovely, extremely natural shade that gives me that ‘your lips, but better’ kind of a look. Definitely suitable to wear everyday – with everything! How fortunate! Last time I got a lipstick in one of the boxes, it was a dr. Hauschka lipstick which, unfortunately, I’ve used maybe once. It has a very strong, unpleasant scent and the color is too warm for my rather cool and pale skin. Unfortunate, because the texture of it was really nice. Not as nice as this Clinique lipstick though!

The Clinique Colour Surge Butter Shine Lipstick (jeebus, what a name!) goes on really smooth and soft, feeling almost like a lip balm on the lips. Though the product looks kind of glittery in the tube, it doesn’t look glittery on the lips. It does however look a lot like a rather subtle lip gloss, but I think this is far safer to wear on a windy day than any gloss I own… I actually don’t own that many glosses these days as I prefer the texture of lipsticks more – especially the really soft, creamy ones.

I wouldn’t say that this lipstick is super long lasting on the lips, but honestly, since it’s unscented (and not play-doh-like) and feels good, I don’t mind reapplying every 2-3 hours. Though, if you keep in mind the fact that this is pretty much equivalent to the natural color of my lips, I won’t really have to worry about it wearing off and showing any unsightly lines or patches. I haven’t really had a chance yet to test how long this could last on the lips, plus I do keep wanting to put it over a lip balm as I do with all of my lipsticks.

I do have to admit that though the first impressions of this lipstick are really good and it feels creamy and moisturizing, it does, after a while, start to feel a bit… off. It won’t really turn dry, but I somehow become more aware of its presence and end up wanting to “fix it” somehow. A bit of lip balm and another application helps. This happens to me with some lipsticks, so I’m not sure if it’s just my problem or one of the qualities of this Clinique lipstick. Any ideas?

Would I purchase it for myself? Well, perhaps for the 10 euros / 15 dollars it is at Sephora, I would. Would I buy it in this cheap-looking tube for 24 euros (33 dollars / 20 pounds)? Nope. Nope. Nope and nope.

Another thing that was in the box, as I mentioned, was the Essie Luxeffects Top Coat:

Essie_Luxeffects_Top_Coat

I fell in love with glitter polishes last winter, though I hate trying to remove them. I actually also fell in love with sequins and might have ordered three sequined t-shirts that all scream DISCO so loudly that even my co-workers were convinced that I was either a disco ball or a Christmas ornament – long before the holiday season. And yes, I wore them to work. And yes, we have a very casual office, as most businesses in Finland do.

Anyway, I do love glitter nail polishes, but I’ve kind of already swapped the super glittery looks to pastel nails and bold colors – which are also far easier to remove! So the timing of this product was perhaps a bit off, but I have a feeling I will be trying this on this weekend anyway (and regretting it later when it’s time to try to take it off).

Speaking of weekend… have a good one all!

3 thoughts on “Clinique Colour Surge Butter Shine Lipstick

  1. Pingback: Grey Eye Shadow Look | Jennificient

  2. Pingback: White Oleander (2002) | Born Unicorn

  3. Pingback: White Oleander (2002) – Born Unicorn

Leave a Reply

