The Perfect Base

Lily Lolo Mineral Foundation SPF 15

Good morning / early afternoon everyone! I’m off today, on this surprisingly snowy first Monday of March. Since I wasn’t in a rush to get to work, I thought I would snap a couple of pictures in the annoyingly yellow light of my bathroom after applying my very favorite, perfect makeup base – Lily Lolo Mineral Foundation SPF 15 in Porcelain. My packaging is still of the old style, with white lid, the new ones look even better and sleeker with black lids. (The picture of the black lidded product is from the Lily Lolo website.)

In the picture above left, the only makeup on my face is the Lily Lolo foundation which I also use a bit more heavily on red spots, blemishes and under my eyes. As you can see, the pores on my nose are still somewhat visible, but I have always struggled with gigantic pores, so to get them to look this good is a challenge – especially with only a powder foundation that won’t block the pores. I hate very thick, heavy duty foundations and to be honest, I never feel completely comfortable wearing a liquid foundation, though I have been wearing the Rimmel Match Perfection foundation quite a bit as of late as it’s quick and easy to slap on, where as my mineral base takes a bit more time and effort.

On the picture above right is my base completely done. In addition to the foundation, I also used the Lily Lolo Finishing Powder in Translucent Silk and as you can see, it gives the skin a bit of an added glow. I’ve also used the MUA Makeup Academy Undress Your Skin Highlighter to bring in an extra bit of light – it also works on my eyelids. On the cheeks there’s a flush of MUA’s Mosaic Blusher English Rose (a very fair, natural pink) and on the lips there’s just a helping of my Carmex cherry lip balm (my lips are naturally very pigmented). My eyebrows have just been brushed a bit, that is their natural color and shape. I feel that I often look quite harsh if I try to use color on my eyebrows. On my lashes, I’m wearing my all time 2nd favorite mascara, L’Oreal Telescopic, the golden tube, not the silver one. My all time favorite mascara is Lancôme Hypnôse by the way. In the picture, I also have a hint of black eyeliner on the upper lashline – lined from underneath, a bit like tightlining.

Now, if only my MUA order(s) would get here so that I could get a new powder brush! I’m currently using my Bare Minerals brushes to do my base, but the quality of those is absolutely horrifying – especially when you consider that the price is pretty steep! The Bare Minerals brushes that I’ve had now for almost a year are still shedding like crazy. Extremely annoying and frustrating! Stay clear of those brushes!

However, do go ahead and get yourself a set of the Lily Lolo products, they are absolutely amazing and honestly, not badly priced either!

One thought on “The Perfect Base

  1. Pingback: Grey Eye Shadow Look | Jennificient

Leave a Reply

